"Shine Like Stars In The World" Philippians 2:15
Message Tab

E-Mail this article E-Mail
Display this article more printer friendly Printer-friendly

22 students with Kentucky ties graduate from Southern


LOUISVILLE—Twenty-two master's and doctoral students from Kentucky received their degrees as members of a 211-person graduating class during Southern Seminary's 220th commencement exercises, Dec. 8.

Albert Mohler Jr., president of Southern Seminary, said that ministers of the gospel are instruments of God's plan to renew the world, delivering humanity from its curse. "This faculty has taught you with conviction and affection, and now you go to bear the gospel of Christ and to preach the Word.'

Mohler's address tied directly to the Christmas season with a title of "Far as the Curse is Found, ' quoting often from the hymn "Joy to the World.' "How far does the gospel reach? To what lengths must the gospel be taken? It is answered in the third verse of this hymn: 'Far as the curse is found,'' Mohler said. "Go and preach. Go and tell. Teach the good news that Christ has redeemed us from the curse by becoming a curse for us. Take the message of the gospel of Christ far as the curse is found.'

During the ceremony, Mohler also presented the Josephine S. and James L. Baggott Outstanding Graduate Award to Tyson W. Ziegler, a master of divinity graduate from Independence, Ky. The award was established in 1980 to recognize the outstanding graduate of each graduating class.

Following are the students from Kentucky:

Master of Theology: Jonathan Atkinson, Immanuel Baptist Church, Louisville; Master of Arts in Biblical Counseling Monica C. Bagwell, Sovereign Grace Church, Louisville

Master of Divinity: David E. Barron, Mt. Vernon Baptist Church, Georgetown; Allen M. Brooks, Union Baptist Church, Bardstown; Cole C. Harper, Sojourn Community Church, Louisville; Brian T. Owens, Swallowfield Baptist Church, Lawrenceburg; Mark A. Powell, Central Baptist Church, Maysville; Bryan D. Watts, Victory Baptist Church, Lexington; Dylan L. Watts, Porter Memorial Baptist Church, Lexington; Steven A. Wilhoit, Summerlin Community Baptist Church, Louisville

Doctor of Philosophy: Christopher M. Byrley, Throne of Grace Community Church, Louisville; Scott A. Gilbert, Grace Baptist Church, Somerset; Doctor of Education Amy L. Crider, LaGrange Baptist Church, Louisville; Doctor of Ministry Brandt T. Lyon, Twelve Oaks Baptist Church, Hopkinsville; Michael T. Rader, Ephesus Baptist Church, Winchester;

Master of Arts in Worship: Leadership Samuel B. Stofer, Living Hope Baptist Church, Bowling Green. (SBTS)

Not a subscriber? Want to see more content like this article?
Please subscribe to the Western Recorder print or online edition.

Already a subscriber? Login here.