"Shine Like Stars In The World" Philippians 2:15
Message Tab

E-Mail this article E-Mail
Display this article more printer friendly Printer-friendly

8 Kentuckians named to committees, boards, commission, seminaries


NASHVILLE—Nominees to serve on the Southern Baptist Convention Executive Committee, the four denominational boards—International Mission Board, North American Mission Board, LifeWay Christian Resources, and GuideStone Financial Resources—the Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission, the six seminaries, and the Committee on Order of Business have been selected by the 2017 SBC Committee on Nominations.

Eight Kentuckians will serve if elected by the messengers to the annual meeting of the Southern Baptist Convention, June 13-14 in Phoenix.

Executive Committee: Nominated for second term is Michael E. "Mike" Pope, Somerset.

Guidestone Financial Resources: Nominated for second term is J. Wesley Noss, Frankfort.

International Mission Board: Nominees with terms to expire in 2021 replacing trustees ineligible for re-election include Trent Snyder, associate pastor of missions and evangelism, Porter Memorial Baptist Church, Lexington, replacing Charlie W. Davis, Louisville.

Lifeway Christian Resources: Nominees with terms to expire in 2021 replacing trustees ineligible for re-election include Ron A. Edmondson, pastor, Immanuel Baptist Church, Lexington, replacing Timothy D. Turner, Lexington, who resigned.

Southern Seminary: Nominated for second terms are Elizabeth H. "Ellie" Coursey, Henderson; Stanley L. Craig, Louisville; and Patricia A. Skelton, Shelbyville.

Committee on Order of Business: Nominees with terms to expire in 2020 replacing members ineligible for re-election include Tim Moore, layperson and member of Northside Baptist Church, Elizabethtown, replacing Rod D. Martin, Niceville, Fla. (BP)

Not a subscriber? Want to see more content like this article?
Please subscribe to the Western Recorder print or online edition.

Already a subscriber? Login here.