"Shine Like Stars In The World" Philippians 2:15
Message Tab

E-Mail this article E-Mail
Display this article more printer friendly Printer-friendly

Cooper returning To SBC Committee on Resolutions


Linda Cooper

PHOENIX — Southern Baptist Convention President Steve Gaines has named the members of the Committee on Resolutions for the June 13-14 SBC annual meeting in Phoenix.

Gaines, pastor of Memphis-area Bellevue Baptist Church, appointed the committee in keeping with the provision in SBC Bylaw 20 that its members be named 75 days prior to the start of the annual meeting.

Gaines named Barrett Duke of Montana as committee chairman. Duke is the newly elected executive director of the Montana Southern Baptist Convention and a member of Weems Creek Baptist Church in Annapolis, Md.

Among the other nine committee members is Linda Cooper, national president of Woman's Missionary Union and a member of Forest Park Baptist Church, Bowling Green, Ky.

The committee's composition, according to Bylaw 20, must include at least two members who served the previous year, with Cooper, Duesing, Slade and Smith meeting this requirement. Bylaw 20 also stipulates that the committee include at least three SBC Executive Committee members. This year they are Alford, Cooper and Slade.

Proposed resolutions may be submitted as early as April 15 but no later than 15 days prior to the SBC annual meeting, giving the Resolutions Committee a two-week period in which to consider submissions. Resolutions may not be submitted during the annual meeting.

Resolutions preferably should be submitted by email or mailed to the Committee on Resolutions in care of the SBC Executive Committee, 901 Commerce St., Nashville, TN 37203. Drafts must be typewritten, titled, dated and include complete contact information for the person and his or her church. (BP)

Not a subscriber? Want to see more content like this article?
Please subscribe to the Western Recorder print or online edition.

Already a subscriber? Login here.